Name of Department: SOCIOLOGY
Information: Department of Sociology in Languages and History-Geography Faculty at Ankara University has been established under the Institute of Philosophy in 1939 as a first sociology programme of Republic, and second in Turkey –coming after the one which had been formerly established in İstanbul University Faculty of Art and Sciences in 1914. The department have been launched as a separate department in 1983.
Department of Sociology at Ankara University leads to a new and unique sociological perspective in 1939, owing to prominent sociologists Behice Boran coming from Michigan University and Niyasi Berkes from Chicago University. Their appearance in the department brings a new dynamic and the department turns out to be a “centre for sociological practice” not only in Turkey but at an international scale. In this period, other professors like Pertev Nail Boratav and Muzaffer Şerif Başoğlu perform invaluable studies which gives an edge and leads to the social sciences in Turkey. By virtue of their contributions, the department stands up for the universality of science and objects to particularist sociological perspectives. At those times, sociological understanding in the department pursues a comprehension of concrete social reality and social problems of the society without falling into vulgar positivism or empiricisms. Owing to such a perspective, a critical sociological understanding rather than legitimation of existing social structures flourishes in the department.
In 1948, dismissal of those leading figures like Behice Boran, Niyazi Berkes, Pertev Naili Boratav and Muzaffer Şerif Başoğlu’s forsed departure from the faculty brings along the closure of the department. After the process of dismissals, the sociological understanding of the department have remained till today in conjunction with ruptures and discontinuities.
Students with background from other disciplines are also welcome in our graduate programmes. But they have to take under-graduate courses for a year. Although there are four different sub-departments which are called “General Sociology and Methodology”, “Applied Sociology”, “Social Structures and Social Change” and “Sociology of Institutions”, common graduate programmes are being offered, that are “MS in Sociology” and PhD in Sociology”. Those programmes cover a variety of sociological fields and topics like Globalization, Sociology of Development and Underdevelopment, Urban Sociology, Sociology of Health, Environmental Sociology, Cultural Studies, Technology, Labour Movements, Social Sciences Methodology, Political Sociology, Gender, Social Memory, and Sociology in Turkey.
Students are supposed to take at least seven courses and a seminar course in addition to writing a thesis. The department accepts students in Spring and Fall Semesters.
Head of Department: Prof. Dr. Hayriye ERBAŞ
Telefon: 0312 310 32 80 – 1730
Ankara Üniversitesi Dil ve Tarih-Coğrafya Fakültesi Sosyoloji Bölümü Sıhhiye/ANKARA
Departmental Secretary: Ayhan Kesimen
Telefon: 0 312 310 32 80 / 1756